ceebeegee: (columbia)
I've been a little late on my thank you notes this year and am just now finishing them up. (Ideally they should be written on Christmas Day, of course, but as you get older, you have to take more responsibility for the evening entertainment and so don't have that hour or two in the afternoon of Christmas Day to whip them off.) Because I love the idea that someone got me a present and wrapped it, sometimes I don't open them right away. And in fact I did not open my last two presents from my Dad and stepmother until last night. What fun! They got me (among other stuff that I'd opened before) a beautiful little blank book that my stepmother found in Florence! I love it! It is really pretty, it looks like this old medieval tome but it's small, like not much bigger than my hand. But thick.

They also gave me a hardback edition of The Lost Symbol which literally made me scream out loud. I have been waiting for that book to come out in paperback--I know the reserve line at the library is very long. Yay! Can't wait to dive into it! I wrote them a thank you note today. I've been a little out of touch with my parents this year because of The Situation. The story is so long and depressing, I just didn't want to launch into the whole thing on the phone and have to relive it AGAIN, at least not until it's resolved. And yet it's been so much on my mind, I felt I would have to mention it, if that makes sense. So, sadly, I haven't really talked to them much except for emails here and there, and I don't think I'll be able to visit them until at least June or July--my spring is pretty full at this point. But after tonight perhaps I can at least talk to them. They did call me on my birthday and luckily I was able to talk of other things--mainly, the Columbia news. They are thrilled and told my youngest brother immediately. I thought Mom might've told Bart, my oldest brother, but when he called us on Xmas Day, it turned out she hadn't so I told him and he was thrilled. He kept saying "you deserve this, you've earned this." Then he said something funny--"don't go turning into a super-liberal now!" This is especially hilarious because my youngest brother in an email this weekend said exactly the same thing. Stuart knows me better than that, he knows there is no way I'm going to start to trend left on Israel. I'm to the right of Sharon on Israeli issues. (Stuart is an expert on Arab-Israeli affairs and we are probably the two most knowledgeable in our family about the Arab-Israeli situation--me through history and Stuart through current events. Although the Middle East is like the South--as Faulkner said "in the South, the past isn't dead. It isn't even past." My point being that current affairs in the Middle East IS history!)

So my registration finally went through and I start classes (well, my one class so far) on the 19th. Yay! Can't wait to immerse myself in empires past! I also got invoiced--OY. FAFSA, here I come!
ceebeegee: (Default)
Hamas has won in the Palestinian elections, which is bad news for the peace process in Israel. Hamas has declared in no uncertain terms that they hate Israel, and will not recognize it, and they have claimed responsibility for many suicide bombings during the intifadah. I had such hope after Arafat died--I truly believed the Palestinian people wanted peace and Abbas could make it happen.

My friend djeber says it nicely:

Here are some thoughts: the Palestinians were given a choice, and now they've shown the world what they stand for. I don't care how corrupt Fatah was or how many schools Hamas built. None of that changes the fact that the Palestians have put into power a fundamentalist, terrorist organization dedicated to the destruction of Israel. As such, I now just hope that they give Israel an excuse to wipe them off the planet. And if some civilians get caught in the crossfire, well, they put Hamas in power, so now they can reap the consequences. I won't lose any sleep over it.

Well, at least we (what is, Israel) know what we're dealing with--the gloves are off and Israel can continue to build that wall. Jesus. Yay for democracy?
ceebeegee: (Default)
After escaping from the rubbery, possibly transgender guy who hit on me yesterday, I got waxed, and then walked home. I was exhausted but I pulled myself together for Heidi's housecooling party. Her soon-to-be-erstwhile apartment is quite pretty--a cool little railroad apartment with some great features. Heidi has an excellent eye for color--I look forward to seeing how she paints the new place. I got there around 7:00 and hung out with Duncan, Mike, Heidi, Chris and Paula for awhile. Oh yeah, and Doug :) *mwah* It was fun, just relaxing hanging out with people. Mike apologized for forgetting (again) to bring me his copy of The Fountainhead and I scolded his lack of Objectivism. I said "Are you expecting me to pick up the slack for you?" I should have called him Moochie Welch.

After awhile we dispersed, and Doug and I hung out some more, drinking and watching the Olympics. Watching them in the Internet era is TORTURE--I've already been spoiled about much of tonight's program. I CANNOT let myself read the news tomorrow, as I really want to enjoy the women's gymnastics team program. Go USA!

Oh, and can I say how much Iran SUCKS? Way to live up to those Olympic ideals, guys!
ceebeegee: (Default)
I'm thinking about what happened in Fallujah on Wednesday. I just cannot wrap my head around that kind of insane savagery. Mike and I were talking about this last night--what kind of...creature...do you have to be to do that to another human being? How can you surrender your humanity like that? I don't understand it at all. These creatures look human, they have human faces and talk and move like humans, but it's as though there's human skin stretched over an abyss of evil, the heart of darkness. "Under the tiger-mask, a man, yes. But under the man-skin--a beast."

There are so many awful things about this--these men, the victims, were not only civilians, but they were providing for food delivery, which means they may have even been trying to help the Iraqis. And reports say that there were young boys there, helping the savages and cheering them on. Children. Cheering them on. Bringing them gasoline. I don't...I don't even know how to respond.

A friend of mine online posted on a message board:

You know, I'm watching Nightline and it's showing images of the carnage in Fallujah today, and I'm thinking, okay, do these people know who they are playing with? Seriously? We could FUCK THAT ENTIRE COUNTRY UP. And right now I'm thinking, hey, what the hell? Who gives a shit, drop about a million bombs.

I don't think they know what game they're playing. If they think America is a big beast now, they have NO idea what could happen if we got REALLY pissed off.


And then in another post:

Thank God this county is slow to anger. Really. We could burn the place down and salt the earth, that's what I'm saying. And I don't know if those "insurgents"/"terrorists"/"residents" of Fallujah really fathom that. The only thing that could stop us from doing that...is us.

Jesus. Jesusjesusjesus. God give us strength not to give in to that, because that would make us no better than the savages who did this. God give us strength to do what needs to be done, to finish the job we started. And please keep my brother safe.
ceebeegee: (Default)
I'm reading a book right now called The Jews of Primetime by David Zurawik, about how Jews have been represented, by Jews (since there is a huge Jewish presence on the executives of network TV) and how they employed self-censorship either to supress Jewish themes or simplify them to easy jokes based on stereotypes. The secondary theme of this is the "self-hating Jew"--are the Jews of TV self-hating because they can mine their culture for humor turned inward, or is this healthy? So far I've read through the sections on Rhoda, Friends, Will and Grace and Seinfeld, the latter of which was originally passed on by Brandon Tarkitoff (Jewish) who thought the show was "too New York, too Jewish." The whole book is very interesting.

Last week I skipped through Queen Noor's autobiography, A Leap of Faith. Interesting but really one-sided re: the Arab-Israeli conflict. She just keeps hammering home this theme of Israeli aggression and ignoring or trivializing Arab on Jewish violence--suicide bombers aren't mentioned at all, Munich '72 rates a barely passing reference. The constant putdowns of Israeli media are annoying and unnecessary--eg., she's talking about a heart incident her husband had--"typically, Israeli radio kept saying he'd had a heart attack." Whatthefuckever, LISA. (She talks about her giving her mother "license" to mistakenly call her "Lisa" after she'd been renamed "Noor" in the wake of her marriage, conversion to Islam, and ascension to the throne. But after awhile she demanded to be called "Noor." Jeez--that woman carried you for nine months and bore you. I think she can call you pretty much whatever she wants.) The most interesting part is when she talks about the Palestinian uprising in the early '70s, when Palestinian terrorists tried to overthrow the government. Very very interesting account, and she wasn't even there yet--she heard the story from other members of the royal family.

One part that annoyed me especially was when she's talking about the Six Day War, and how Israel won because of their superior arms buildup and equipment, but really, Jordan had the better soldiers--better-trained, "more courageous." Wow, LISA. Israel must have tanks capable of driving themselves and planes capable of flying themselves if one tiny country can beat THREE others, SURROUNDING them. Get over it, LISA--you lost. Israel played you and Syria and Egypt and won. And yes, sorry, they did indeed have much better soldiers. They kicked your asses up and down the Arabian peninsula.

There's a line in Florence King's book Southern Ladies and Gentlemen where she talks about the impact the Six-Day War had on Southern good ol' boy sensibilities--"I doubt if the world has ever seen such a rapid cease-fire in anti-Semitism. I heard boy after good ol' boy say things like 'By dern, them Jew boys shore can fight!' One man I knew seriously recommended Congress pass a law giving Moshe Dayan US citizenship, and make him Secretary of Defense. His reasoning: 'That one-eyed bastid would wipe anyone off the map whut gave us trouble.'"
ceebeegee: (Default)
My knee looks bad--it's considerably swollen. I have no idea what happened but I'm putting ice on it for awhile. Julie let me go early from rehearsal, as I was gimping around the studio feeling like Tiny Tim, so I can kick back and rest for a little while.

They caught Saddam Hussein! I wanted to post this earlier today (news junkie that I am, I'd turned on CNN when I first got up) but again, my internet access didn't work. But only this morning--I was able to get on just now. Weird.

Duncan's party was lots of fun. I really wish I'd gotten there earlier--I'd intended to leave my apartment by 9:00 at the latest but Susan called and delayed me for a bit. I got there around 11:00 and then left around 2:00 which wasn't enough fun. But Susan was going back on the PATH and I wanted to go with her.

God, my knee is hurting.
ceebeegee: (Default)
Got this email from Stuart:

I'll see many of you soon, I'm off to Iraq for a bit. Keep in touch, love to everyone.

Stu


I'm trying so hard to keep it together. Please, please, please stay safe, little brother, dear little baby brother.

Prayingprayingprayingprayingprayingprayingprayingprayingprayingprayingprayingprayingprayingprayingprayingprayingprayingprayingprayingprayingprayingprayingprayingpraying...

Vote!

Nov. 4th, 2003 10:33 am
ceebeegee: (Default)
I voted today. They don't expect a big turnout today--the election is for a few council members and some ballot initiatives. I was thinking of Stuart, and Iraq, and my usual frustration with those who don't exercise their right to vote. As fucked up as the situation is over there, we're trying to give them that right. People die all over the world for this right--Iraqis were gassed and tortured in unbelievable ways for this basic right to self-determination, and we take it so casually. We're such complacent, jaded, cynical children.
ceebeegee: (Default)
Oh God. Scary, scary news. My brother Stuart is being sent to Baghdad (he's in Naval Intelligence) for six months. He leaves next week.

Everyone, please pray for him. I'm so scared for him.
ceebeegee: (Default)
Despicable.

Way to murder a baby there, Anonymous Oh-So-Brave Palestinian. Way to target not only civilians, but civilians celebrating one of their most solemn holidays. Have fun in Hell. Hope you brought your flipflops.
ceebeegee: (Default)
Disgusting.

We should just walk away and let these people kill each other off. Unbelievable. Tribal justice? To kill a whole family in "retribution"? Based on rumor?

Savages.
ceebeegee: (Default)
I read the following in Jason's journal:

"He also had some interesting views of women, which are probably predominant in his culture, despite the fact that he's from the 'progressive' Middle Eastern countries. (He's from Jordan, and currently works, as mentioned, in Qatar.) He believes that women should not be in IT, because they don't work as hard as men, and, in fact, mentioned that women are purposely paid less than men. His wife is working towards her masters degree and PhD. Progressive, you say? Well, she's doing that because he wants her to work in education, which he sees more as women's work. Or maybe that's just what his wife lets him believe..."

I can't possibly state strongly enough how much that sort of attitude upsets me. Why? Why? Why is it still so acceptable to bash women? Why come here to a country where you know we as a culture don't share those views and loudly announce your prejudices? (Especially when I'm sure this guy would be the first to scream if he felt discriminated against in this country. Hey, maybe I should ask the guy if he knows any terrorists.) Why don't people object to this? Why is sexism and misogyny still--still--STILL acceptable where racism and religious bigotry are not? Why do people just shrug at this? Why aren't we denouncing out loud and often those countries where "honor" killings are still practiced?

Yesterday as Tim and I were driving to Duncan's show, the radio was on and they were reading the news. They were talking about the police presence at the Puerto Rican parade, saying that 3 years ago, "several women complained that they'd been harassed by parade-goers." Don't you love how they leave out the whole fact of trial and conviction? How they make it sound like maybe it didn't happen--it was just these women's complaints that led to the police presence rather than an actual crime for which these thugs had been convicted. Newsflash: If there was a trial and conviction, that means it happened. That's right up there with Larry King interviewing Samantha Geimar (raped by Roman Polanski at the age of 13) and asking her "So what did you claim he did to you?" Jesus! The man was convicted! It happened! It actually happened, I can't believe he used language like "claim." I was so outraged, I whipped off an email to CNN. No other crime is treated like this. When a mugging or a burglary occurs, the victim is taken seriously. The investigators go by empirical evidence, the newspapers are properly appalled, the defense attorney doesn't put the victim on trial. But when a women is attacked, it's open season--watch some of the archival news about the Central Park jogger. It'll make your stomach turn. Yeah, I guess it's acceptable--in Stupid Logic Land--in an effort to deflect attention from the young men who are accused, to call the almost-dead victim a whore. Because her sexual history has everything to do with whether or not the young men did it. Brilliant reasoning there. But then they did the same thing to poor Jennifer Levin (tiny woman murdered by 6'2" Robert Chambers in Central Park--the piece of filth claimed he killed her in self-defense. Please)--so why should I be surprised?

The world sucks. People suck. I actually had a pretty good weekend but this just depressed me.
ceebeegee: (Default)
Jesus.

I'm surfing the net and come across the official site for the documentary One Day in September, about which I wrote months before. I came across this little tidbit:

To Palestinians Black September was September 1970 when King Hussein of Jordan took up arms against the unruly Palestinian militias based in his country, killing over 4,000 and expelling the remainder. Taking its name from this event the terrorist organisation Black September initially concentrated on revenge against the Jordanian regime. In Cairo on 28th September 1971 Black September assassins shot dead Wasfi Tell, the Jordanian Prime Minister, afterwards kneeling down beside their victim to lick up his blood.

Good. God. Savages. Unbe-fuckin'-lievable. They licked his blood. And these people were hailed by their countrymen as heroes after the Munich slaughter.

I feel sick. I can't believe I share a species with these animals.
ceebeegee: (Default)
Five suicide bombings in 48 hours.

This, so close to another possible peace agreement, proves more than anything how Palestinian militants--who, let's not forget enjoy the support of 60-70% of the "civilian" population so they are fairly representative--don't. Want. Peace. They don't want it. They don't want to coexist with Israel. They want to wipe it out.

And not just in the Middle East but everywhere. (Remember last July 4, with the guy who had to come over to America specifically to kill Jews over here? Nice. So it really has nothing to do with "Palestine"--it's just about hating Jews. Savage.) It doesn't matter that the Palestinians have a higher standard of living in Israel than almost anywhere else (certainly better than in Jordan). It doesn't matter that for all their bellicose rhetoric, the other ostensibly pro-Palestinian Arab countries have done nothing--nothing--to actually help the Palestinians in any meaningful way (they don't take them in, they don't try to moderate the two sides)--they do nothing but urge on the Palestinians in their terrorism. All that matters is their stupid, pathetic pride which is based on nothing in the last millennium and a half; their terrible, sad pride that's so mightily offended because Israel has handily beaten them in every war and gained ground; Israel has a higher standard of living; Israel has a much higher literacy rate. The only thing the Palestinians are good at is murdering civilians.

Just shaking my head over here. They're savages. The only way they can prove otherwise is to start negotiating in earnest and that means rooting out and destroying the militants. Which they won't do. Because they don't want peace.
ceebeegee: (Default)
Psst. Hey. Iraqis.

Happy Liberation. Your celebration is bringing a smile to my face.

I just hope we do right by you.

Profile

ceebeegee: (Default)
ceebeegee

May 2020

S M T W T F S
     12
3456 789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31      

Syndicate

RSS Atom

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 26th, 2026 07:54 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios