ceebeegee: (Default)
I want to say this is the nicest way possible--now that this jet's been found, can we PLEASE air some actual NEWS? Literally every single time in the last two weeks that I've turned to CNN, they've been covering this story. Every. Single. Time. Every time. For two weeks. I get that it's a fascinating story for you guys but come the fuck ON. We're not at the brink of nuclear war--there are no international ramifications for this. But there IS another important story that I DO want to hear about--Russia, Crimea and Ukraine. Can we please hear something about that?

Also Vogue has jumped the shark. Kim K. is bad enough--I don't hate her but I really, really don't get why she's so famous. She's not really pretty IMO, she has no discernible talent, she does nothing but promote herself. But Kanye West is just nastay--thin-skinned and obnoxious and just ugh. Go AWAY. Vogue should be reserved for fashion icons or actual, genuine, talented celebrities, not nasty man-children who whine to Anna Wintour about how their ladyfriend "deserves" a cover. Anna can deny that story all she likes but it sounds just like him--because otherwise it makes no sense that they were given a cover. Neither of them have any fashion cred. I used to subscribe and have thought about picking that back up but not if that creep is going to be on the cover.
ceebeegee: (Beauty)
Not feeling so good today...I've had one of those awful summer colds--terrible sore throat off and on--for a couple of weeks now. I was thinking of picking up a game tomorrow but maybe I should sleep in. For some reason I have not had a really good night's sleep for at least a week--not sure why since I was finally able to put up curtains, even if they don't block out *all* the light.

I walked home via Madison Avenue last night--what a nice avenue! Has a kind of "neighborhood" feel, more brick buildings. And the stores! LOTS of retail eye-candy. Speaking of retail I needed to spruce up my wardrobe so yesterday I went clothes-shopping. Went to H&M first--UGH. Everything there was bland, dull, not cute or trendy at all, the *worst* color pallette, all whites and blacks and boring boring dull wan pastels. I literally found only ONE thing to get, a short-sleeved tailored white shirt. Then I saw Banana Republic and decided to pop in there for a bit--BAM, found 4 cute things immediately.

I had no idea BR had so many items with yellow (my signature color!)! The best thing was these were all massively marked down--40% on top of 40%. As with J. Crew and Ralph Lauren, BR's clothes are preppy enough that there is no fear of shopping the sale rack--the styles will not be outdated for a LONG time.

Got home and hit the gym--I started utilizing it a couple of days ago. There's some sort of deal with the fios box/TV in the gym so that's not working just yet but other than that it's tiny but perfect. It's got everything--a couple of treadmills, a stairmaster, bike machine, weights (both free and bench)--everything. And it's in MY building--I can go any time I like. I am so, so lucky. So far, I've only seen a few guys there! But I tend to go late at night, after 10.

I took pictures of my apartment last night and would've uploaded them but our browsers at work are old so the interface with LJ sucks. Maybe I'll just do it directly from my phone.
ceebeegee: (coach)
Alert! Alert!

Betsey Johnson, which is going out of business (mostly), has SLASHED their prices--both in stores and online! I'm picking up an adorbs green snake print miniskirt and some cute lil' black hose.



HOW CUTE IS THIS?!

Be ye warned, the website is really wonky. I had to call them directly to place the order, then their software at the customer call center is also wonky, and I ended up going online after all, It took me awhile finally to get the order through but it was worth it because it's BETSEY MOTHERFUCKING JOHNSON.

That is all.

Miscellany

Apr. 27th, 2012 04:58 pm
ceebeegee: (coach)
To Rachel (whom I know loves her) and Paula and everybody:

What. The. Fuck?  Noooooooo!  There's a BJ store near where I did my kid's show on the Upper East Side and I used to splurge on one of her pretty little sweaters every spring--the yellow polka-dotted sweater I wore to Rachel's shebang a few years ago was hers.  Nooooo!  I love her stuff!

I have to get a fashion icon.  Well, my Coach icon will do for now.

Read The Hunger Games this week--wicked!  Great story, great execution.  Although I didn't forsee how it would end--I thought something else would happen.  And does anyone else totally get a Slytherin vibe from the Careers?  Katniss is obviously a Gryffindor (fire, chivalrous) and Peeta is a Hufflepuff.  The boy from District 3 who's good with explosives is a Ravenclaw.  I'm going to try to catch the movie this weekend.

I saw Titanic 3-D.  The 3-D is *excellent,* well worth the extra $.  The scene on the water in the aftermath, when they're waiting for the lifeboats to come back, is especially great with the effects--you really feel as though you're there.  Still think Cal has hottter chemistry with Rose, although I believed Rose and Jack as a couple a little bit more.  Mainly because they're both such good actors.  It's kind of...awful, BTW, that Rose lets her mother think she's dead.  I can see why she felt she had to do it, because it's the only way she could have her life, but still...her mother isn't THAT bad, she's just stuck in a terrible situation and sincerely believes that's the only way out, and frankly she's not a horrible mother for thinking that way.  Most mothers would've done the same thing, especially since I doubt Cal shows his abusive side around the mother.  I hope at some point Rose wrote her a postcard or something, letting her know she lived.

But oh my Lord, you have to feel for the actors who play Jack's friends.  At least the Irish guy gets to be snarky--the Italian guy just has the absolute SUCKIEST lines.  "I-uh see the statue-uh of Liberty!"  All he's missing is a pizza in his hands as he dances around singing Abbondanza!

I REALLY want that beautiful green comb that Rose wears.  (Not that it would stay in my stick-straight hair!  But it's so beautiful...)

HATE the obnoxious guy with the beard--his part is just soooo terribly written and he is terrible in the role.  Yes, people like that exist, insensitive people, treasure hunters, etc. but really, after his "fine forensic analysis" NO ONE said anything reprovingly to him?  No one shot him a "hey jerk, STFU, this actually happened to her, it's not 'cool'" look?  Cameron's script TRIES TOO HARD.  The bad guys are too obviously bad and the good...well, Rose and Jack are pretty nuanced but the steerage passengers are all grimily noble.

People need to shut it about the damn door.  There was room but no bouyancy--it wouldn't have held both of them, that's established that when they both try to climb on and it flips over.

I loooove that scene, that endless delineation, when she is dying and hears the lifeboat.  She hears it--and I love how it's muted and changed because she is that close to death.  Slowly, slowly she realizes, and there's that heart-breaking moment where she doesn't get it, that Jack is now dead.  And when did that happen?  Surely he was dying when he told her not to give up.  She finally realizes and then it seems she gives up--she's just going to lie there and give in to despair and go with him.  But then, no--slowly, she forces herself to keep her promise.  It's a great sequence--something about that process, that here's where she makes that decision, here's where it could go either way, is fascinating to me.

Still love that ending.
ceebeegee: (coach)
Last night Christine, our producer for Macbeth, had a fundraiser/benefit for the show at the Irish Rogue. I had such a great time--to start off, Duncan gave me an AMAZING (late) birthday present...a bottle of pumpkin-infused VODKA!!! That he'd made himself! I was absolutely thrilled--can't wait to try to make Pumpkin Alexanders or something else equally amazing with that! Seriously, one of the best presents I've ever gotten. I'm always so impressed with good gift-givers--Rachel is another good gift-giver, she has exquisite taste for one thing. Intimidatingly good taste. My friend Ashley is another.

Anyway, so that made me very happy. The entertainment was a series of acts, mostly musical except the first was a VERY strange conceptual comedy act that did not go over at all. I felt kind of bad for the girl--I think something like that plays better in a dedicated environment (like a comedy club or a nightclub), rather than a long room in a bar with people crossing back and forth, talking, playing pool, etc. Anyway, Duncan also performed, and I read a poem ("Death of a Naturalist," by Seamus Heaney). I actually wasn't too thrilled with my reading of it--I'm not sure what didn't quite work, just that I felt like I was yelling or something--but I got several compliments so as long as someone liked it, it's all good. One performing duo was also a little off--our sound designer and his wife performed a couple of songs in...some kind of costume. He was dressed as a pimp but I'm not sure what she was, and they sang some kind of song about being a "criminal." Hmm. But there was another duo who sang Lionel Richie's "Hello" as a tribute to Glee and their harmony was great!

But best of all--they had a raffle, and guess who's the proud owner of a NEW COACH SCARF? ME, that's who! I'd bought several tickets and had missed the 3-day membership at Chelsea Sports by just one digit. Then when they started to read off the winning number for the Coach scarf I crossed my fingers and everything else, and Duncan pointed to me and said "if I win this, you're getting it." AND THEN THEY READ MY NUMBER!!!!!! I literally squealed aloud and danced up to Christine--it was like winning Miss America!

Who's the proud owner of a brand new cashmere Coach scarf?

ME, that's who!

Then to top it off, one of the performers had been involved with the Planet Connections Festival and pulled me aside and said some very nice things indeed about my performance as Puck. Terribly sweet--she said she'd "voted for [me] and everything." I love delayed compliments.

I have to say, I'm really liking Christine. She's the producer and she's also playing Lady M. So far I've been very happy with her leadership and she's such a non-diva--we taped the voiceovers for the apparition and she voiced Apparition #3 (the one about "til Birnam Wood come to Dunsinane"). Andrew asked if I had any feedback, and I talked to her about the stuff in Shakespeare's Advice to the Players. She LOVED it, really welcomed the feedback and then later on texted me for the name of the book. It's such a great book, so helpful.

Really, the only disappointing thing about the evening was that I never got to play any pool!
ceebeegee: (golden hearts)
I watched Elizabeth's DVD of The Devil Wears Prada the other day. Interestingly, it's one movie that's actually much better than the book, which I found interesting but not well-written. Meryl Streep and Anne Hathaway do exceptional work and really flesh out Miranda and Andrea's relationship nicely. It's much more dimensional than in the book. I also like the plot changes here and there they've made, especially when Andrea goes to Paris instead of Emily--it's actually part of Andrea's character development instead of just a lucky accident. Loved her relationship with Nigel--I especially liked his scolding her that "so many girls would die to work here whereas you only deign to work here." Loved Miranda's monologue on Fashion Trickle-Down, and the opening montage where you see all these young women dressing for the day--armoring themselves, really, dressing well is a form of offense/defense. And thank goodness they took out the Lily melodrama subplot--as much as I would've liked Tracie's part to be bigger, I found it annoying that her addiction problems were supposed to be Andrea's fault. I like Andrea making her choice in the end for her own reasons, and not because her roommate is that messed up. (I find it impossible to believe when someone's in Paris on a business trip, that her whole family and her BF would be lecturing her on why she MUST come home to help her friend--why can't one of them go? Especially if it meant losing her job.)

However it's ludicrous that Anne Hathaway would be considered fat there--she isn't any heavier than Emily Blount and it's annoying that the movie insists this, or that we're supposed to think that Emily is thinner in the second half of the movie. If they're going to try to push this, they should've padded AH and asked Emily Blount to lose weight for those scenes. Also, the guy who plays Christian looks at least ten years older than AH and it comes off as kind of sleazy, especially when they're in Paris together. He just doesn't have much charm, not the way the character in the book has. Another odd thing is--I get that Andrea is supposed to be clueless to fashion in the beginning, but would she really dress *that* sloppily for a job interview, or for her first day of work? No wonder everyone sneered at her--that looks disrespectful.

Think pink!

Aug. 7th, 2006 02:05 pm
ceebeegee: (Beauty)
Jason and I had a funny conversation Saturday. We were talking about costumes, and he asked me what Egeus would be wearing, to distinguish Silas from Starveling. I said Silas would don just one piece, rather than a full costume change. Jason asked what piece; I said Silas had suggested a Hamptons jacket. Jacon looked blank. "What" I said, "A Hamptons jacket." Jason didn't know what that meant so I tried to elucidate. "You know, made of seersucker." He looked even more blank and I started laughing. "I am blind; what is this thing you call color? What does it sound like, what does it taste like, how does it smell?"

Seersucker! How can a guy not know what seersucker is? This just proves Jason is not from the South :)
ceebeegee: (Massachusetts foliage)
Late Friday I took the train home for the holiday weekend. If you're going to be on the train for longer than a couple of hours, the Acela is really nice (although not particularly cheap). They have a quiet car which is soooo relaxing--no cell phones, no music, no noisy anybody allowed. The whole train looks so much nicer and the trays are bigger. I'd bought a magazine and The Other Boleyn Girl (a great read but boy, did she take some liberties!) and I was enjoying the ride very much until Philadelphia when this really weird older man got on and sat next to me. For a good 25 minutes this man kept standing up, sitting down, fussing, opening up his luggage, closing up his luggage, sitting down, standing up...just fussing, fussing, fussing. Dude--it's the QUIET car. People really want things to be quiet and still. No one wants to notice you. And he kept looking at me and trying to talk and then muttering to himself. I had my headphones on so I could at least give the appearance of being in my own world. Then at one point he tapped me on my shoulder so I was forced to talk to him."Yes?" "Grump grump grump...I'm...uh...going to get as horizontal as possible." WhatEVER! "Uh...sure." Then after all that he did nothing! Just sat there, still pushing papers on his tray and looking over at me. I swear, women can back me up--there is always some weird guy out there who can't stand it that you don't acknowledge him. It's the stranger who points at you and orders you to smile on the sidewalk, or when you're in a hurry, the guy who tries to get in your way. Or the friend of a friend who thinks you're cute and gets all bitter because you don't know he exists.

Anyway, so I had two and a half glorious days in Virginia. Mom and I went to the pool (she belongs to this neighborhood pool association) Saturday and roasted for a little while. I was gobbling up The Other Boleyn Girl--good gossipy beach fiction for the fan of historical trash--and eventually we went back and cooked out in the backyard. Mom's yard is very lush, with many different kinds of trees--dogwood, oak, holly, white pin--and other kinds of flora. Sooo peaceful and shady and verdant. We watched the DVD of Kingdom of Heaven later--again, fun but definitely took some historical liberties.

Sunday we went to see the Nats kick the crap out of the Dodgers. Hoo-ey! Good times. Mom was so cute--what she knows of baseball, she learned from watching me and my explaining the finer points of the game to her. So she wasn't a hardcore fan but was very proud that DC finally got a team again. When we got back home, she brought the sports page into my room, talking about how the Nats have been doing lately, noting that they'd lost to the Dodgers the day before. The thought of my mother reading the sports page and trending the home team is pretty funny.

Yesterday I slept very late, and then we got up and had a wonderfully appropriate Memorial Day. There was a parade in Falls Church, and vendors and food booths. (I snagged a Coach Scribble bag--like this but in a multi-color print, with tags and a dustbag!) We walked around the parade--sadly I didn't see any of my classmates from Mason although I know a bunch of them still live in the area. One of the booths was for the Falls Church Presbyterian Church, and they had an exhibit about their ongoing work in New Orleans. I talked to them about the possibility of volunteering--I definitely want to go for a week down there and I'm on the Habitat for Humanity mailing list for just such an opportunity. I said "I live in New York and I'm an Episcopalian so I don't know if you'd be interested..." The woman gave me a couple of email addresses of people to contact.

After that we went back to Mom's place, she got some flowers from her garden, and went over to Arlington Cemetery where my grandparents are buried. I think the last time I saw Grandpa John's grave was when Memaw died in 1999--I remember visiting as a child, and we saw the Kennedys' grave and I remember the "Baby Girl" grave, the miscarriage that Jackie had in the late '50s. (I was weirdly interested in dead Presidential children at that age--Willy Lincoln fascinated me as well.) It's such a beautiful resting place, on this hilly, grassy knoll, surrounded by trees, "below the Mason-Dixon line, which would make Daddy happy" as Mom said. I looked around and noticed some high-rollers nearby--a major-general, a rear admiral, a vice admiral. One was from Alabama--that would also make him happy (Grandpa John was from Birmingham).
ceebeegee: (Massachusetts foliage)
Rarely in my life have I felt quite as WASPy as this, standing here in my full-length black velvet strapless gown with my grandmother's fur stole, my blonde hair pulled severely back from my face a la Gwyneth Paltrow at the 1999 Oscars, a triple strand choker of pearls around my neck.

The Sex and the City people should approve tomorrow.
ceebeegee: (Pink!)
BTW, I was veryvery bad yesterday. On the way to the LES Tenement Museum, I was SUCKED INTO a cute little shop called tutu. They sold clothes. In particular, they had this adorable number in orange, with pretty red striping down the side. It's a smokin' hot dress, very tight and with whisper-thin material. A perfect lil' summer dress. And it'll look so good on me with a tan.

And yet. I've self-imposed a clothes embargo that cannot be lifted until I move into a bigger apartment. I simply have no room left.

[small voice]Iboughtthedress.[/small voice] *hangs head in shame*

Pierrot, an orange summer dress! I cannot live without an orange summer dress!
ceebeegee: (Default)
This was a documentary on A& E recently that I taped and watched over the weekend.

Very interesting. It focused on four models: two established, two up-and-comers. The two established were Karolina Kurkova whom I found completely generic and unappealing, and Liya Kebede, a black model who's been signed to an upcoming Estee Lauder campaign whom I thought was stunning. She had this bony, angled face that was so elegant-looking; I simply didn't get why everyone was agog for Karolina who looked like another Nikki Taylor with her too-big teeth and her cheesy smile. Ick. I sound harsh I suppose, but I couldn't stand the whole "I'm popular and I'm entitled" attitude I sensed in her--she really didn't seem that humble, especially when she got notification that she was the VH1 Model of the Year.

I found the whole objective discussion of beauty as a business, a commodity fascinating, because of course it interlaps with a lot of things that aren't so cut and dry, like the fact that no matter how they can try to be objective, the fact is a model is going to take it personally when they're rejected; and that no matter how you quantify it, beauty is subjective and transcendent.
ceebeegee: (Default)
Apropos of very little, I hate my body sometimes. Yuck. Blech. Urg. How can something that's supposed to be good for you make you feel so disgustingly fat?

I'm seeing an apartment tomorrow on 48th Street. It sounds cute but I have a few worries. I'm nervous about leaving the lease early and possibly pissing off Milt, even if Janna can come in early. Also, I don't know if the apartment is rent-stabilized, and then there's that big broker's fee. But it sounds like a nice place--courtyard, two windows--and it's in my beloved Hell's Kitchen.

The Three's Company movie last night was really good. God, I love the '70s. Mid-to-late '70s, man, that's my era. All those beautiful colors, where fashion showed off a woman's body, and people relished the decadent.
ceebeegee: (Default)
I flew home Good Friday and promptly napped for 4 hours. In fact I did a lot of sleeping last weekend but not enough, as I'm still catching up. (The showcase is kicking my ass currently--we open next week and I'm still working on a lot of my stuff. I did have a breakthrough last night with my Miranda monologue though so I feel good about that.) Saturday I drove Mom to work and then tried to get back to sleep, unsuccessfully. Finally I got up, showered, and went to a cute little family-run coffee shop in Falls Church called, appropriately, Caffeine. Very appropriately, as it turned out--they must have snuck in a couple of extra shots into my dulce de leche frozen thingie. I felt like I'd been clobbered by a box of No-Doz.

Anyway, I met with Cami at the Fairfax Museum, where she works. We chatted for a couple of hours, a lot about what I'm doing and how we're both planning websites. The museum is in the City of Fairfax, which is older and nicer than the general County of Fairfax. The City is actually quite historical and has some lovely houses and structures, as well as a few alluring Confederate tales. I have to say, I was struck anew at how beautiful Virginia is this time of year. Flowering dogwoods with their folksy connection to the True Cross, redbuds in their startling purple glory, white petals flutteringflutteringfluttering down everywhere, on your car, in your hair, on your steps. It's such an organic manifestation of abstract concepts like Easter and rebirth and new life.

Saturday night after his show Ryan came over and we went out to TGIFriday's where I was disappointed to see they have stopped making the 9-Layer Dip. That was my favorite item on the menu! :( Ryan asked after Duncan, Jason and Paula--he wanted to know about Sleeping in Tomorrow and when Jason and Paula were getting married. He's very good about that sort of thing. I myself have to kick myself to remind me of some social pleasantries, especially when I'm meetng a very close friend.

Sunday morning Mom and I went to church, at St. Mary's in Arlington. We saw Mrs. Austin there (I went to college with her daughter, Patricia--in fact, Patricia was one of the Kit Kat girls in Cabaret with me) and spotted a few others but didn't really linger. I was a bit...unsettled by the fact that there were very few other women wearing a sleeveless top, as I was. It's Virginia, Clara. People dress differently down there. Bows and pastel suits are perfectly acceptable. Sleeveless slinky black tops, maybe not so much. Although at least I wasn't wearing the hoochiemama short skirts I saw on a couple of teenagers. Ah yes, the true meaning of Christian fellowship--critiquing what everyone else is wearing.

Afterward, Mom and I did the brunch thing at home where she got to show off her omelet skills in her new kitchen. We had quite the gourmet brunch--bellinis, orange sticky rolls, and omelets with salmon cream cheese and caviar. My God. Words can't describe the deliciousness.

Profile

ceebeegee: (Default)
ceebeegee

May 2020

S M T W T F S
     12
3456 789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31      

Syndicate

RSS Atom

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 27th, 2026 06:47 am
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios