ceebeegee: (St. Patrick's Day)
So it was a few days ago but I don't want to forget to post about St. Patrick's Day and Tim's annual party. The weather was absolutely GORGEOUS, with perfect sunny skies and no chill whatsoever. A glorious day! I got there around noon and everyone had a blast. I even got to sing a bit ("Danny Boy," "The Wearin' of the Green" and "How Are Things in Glocca Morra?"). In the evening, after I lfet work, I joined Tim and some of his friends and we went to a place on the way Upper east side. I had Guinness and fish and chips and was stuffted afterwards.



Love the colors in these banners. I got a lot of pictures of them, they're so pretty with the light coming through them.



How lucky are these people, to have an apartment that overlooks Fifth Avenue...



I have to agree. That goes for Scotland as well.



The Tricolour!



Tim, Chuck Sullivan and me atop the Peninsula. As I always say, Tim is one of those people who knows everyone, and Chuck is Someone to Know. He co-owns the Patriots and used to co-own the Celtics, or maybe the other way around. He used to double-date with Tim and me, really nice guy. Love the guy on the left, "Uh, Central Casting called, needed an Irishman in the background?" Except that he has a glass of wine and not a beer.

And finally, I shot some video with my little Canon and edited together a tiny film--pretty cheesy but I don't care! I wanted people who don't live in the city to be able to enjoy a little St. Patrick's Day fun. (I apologize for the wonky volume--I'm still no expert on Windows Movie Maker, although I've gotten better, and volume adjustment with different audio tracks is still confusing to me.)

ceebeegee: (Red Heather)
Monserrate heckled mercilessly during his debate with opponent for Queens seat in upcoming special election.

My favorite part is the protesters who slashed red lipstick on their cheeks every time he promised to "cut" anything.

Monserrate was convicted last fall of slashing his girlfriend's face with glass a little over a year ago (he is seen on video dragging her through the lobby of their apartment building). Subsequently the State Senate expelled him out but he fought it--he actually sued the State Senate. A judge smacked him down, affirming the right of legislative bodies to discipline their own members. He was also right in the middle of those shenanigans last summer with the deadlock in the State Senate, and he's also voted against gay marriage in New York State, notwithstanding his campaign promise to Empire Pride to vote for it. Not only is he running again, if you can believe it he's cast himself as the victim in the whole girlfriend slashing-and-dragging, Senate expulsion thing. He made a speech, saying he "had been made a scapegoat" and "accused his critics of exploiting an 'ethical bully pulpit' and called the process to expel him 'the height of arrogance.'" Just...wow. Truly shameless. This is really just another example of the shithead-male entitlement thing as the beating at the Social--this is obviously a guy who thinks he has the right to discipline his "woman" and is outraged than anyone could suggest otherwise.
ceebeegee: (Red Heather)
Guys. GUYS. I'm talking to YOU, "Governor" Paterson, and Charlie Rangel and the girlfriend-slashing rep from Queens, Montserrate, and our latest embarrassment, the ertswhile Representative Massa.

STOP RUINING THE BRAND. Okay, we all know the drill--Democrats get caught with women, (conservative) Republicans get caught with men. Democrats are populares, Republicans are optimates (heh, a little Roman Republic history there). Didn't you get the memo? What the hell is going on here? New York Democrats are a MESS right now. Who has the gall to try to maim his girlfriend with a razor and then not only refuse to allow himself to be censored by the state senate, but then tries to run again and steals Obama's election imagery and slogans? And Paterson is a pathetic trainwreck, an incurious, uninsightful party boy who is in way over his head. I want to say I'm disappointed but no--I'm not surprised at all. However I am disappointed in Rangel--a natural leader, a gifted politician and he turns out to be helping himself on the side. And OMG, MASSA, what a complete trainwreck. Dude, find a narrative and stick with it. And stop trying to blame someone--anyone--else for what you did. When Glenn Beck writes off your Democrat-bashing narrative in disgust, you know you've got problems.

Regarding infidelity in politicians--generally I don't care. That is between them and their spouses, as long as it doesn't affect their governing/decision-making. But when they're hypocrites, like Henry Hyde, that bothers me. I don't necessarily think they should resign, but obviously it completely nullifies the moral authority they claim to have.* And when they're promoting anti-gay legislation and they turn out to be gay--they are fair game, man. If you're going to stick your nose into the private lives of my friends and family and make them into 2nd-class citizens, then I have no sympathy when you're caught in the bathroom tapping in Morse code DO ME NOW to the stranger in the next stall.

*Spitzer is a special case--yes, he was a hypocrite not so much in words but because he made his career as a moral crusader, built his rep as AG on it, including targeting johns. Also after he'd been elected he did not Play Well with Others, he made a lot of enemies in Albany, and after he was caught he was a quadriplegic duck. He never would've been able to effect ANY legislation after the scandal so yeah--buh-bye. That's a tragic case, because he was actually very capable and intelligent. Unlike his replacement.

But seriously, New York Democrats. Clean it the fuck up. (Though in all fairness, the Democratic Party has basically kicked out Montserrate.) Stop embarrassing us. We don't look any better than Illinois or Lousiana right now.
ceebeegee: (Massachusetts foliage)
There's a fascinating article in New York magazine this week--I read on Monday and I've been thinking about it ever since. It's about that horrific crash on the Taconic Parkway that happened this summer, the one where 8 people, including 4 kids, were killed. What happened was a woman, Diane Schuler, with her daughter, son and three nieces in the car, went the wrong way down the Taconic Parkway--she went up an exit ramp and pulled into the inside breakdown lane and drove that way for about two miles until she slammed into an SUV going the other (correct) way. Everyone in her vehicle, except her son, was killed, and all three passengers in the SUV were also killed.

I found that sentence early in the article, "passing drivers said she stared straight ahead, her expression serene and oblivious, her hands at ten and two on the steering wheel" haunting. In fact it took me so, that I started doing research to see how the author had learned that--I can't find that detail, I may have to email him directly. I'd only barely heard of the story before I read the article (with no TV, I miss a lot of news, sadly) and my first exposure to it was with the article. I had a lot of very mixed feelings after reading it and after my research I'm even more engaged. The timeline in the article is eerie. She and her husband and other family members had gone camping and she left with all those kids around 9:30 am and stopped at a McDonald's for coffee and OJ, and I guess the kids ate there (this is not only from the article but from what else I've read). Around 12 noon, her sister-in-law Jackie (mother of three of the girls in the car) calls Diane's cell and they have a normal conversation, no apparent slurring or impairment. However just an hour later one of the nieces calls her dad, Jackie's husband Warren--there's something wrong with her aunt and they can hear kids crying in the background. The dad speaks to Diane who's disoriented and slurring. He tells her to stay put, he's coming to get her but she ends the call. And he calls back--again and again and again, as he's driving to try to find her, but does not call 911. She starts driving again and at some point during all this, witnesses apparently saw her at the side of the road, looking as though she were vomiting.

Those poor, terrified children. Oh man. That just makes my heart hurt. Those little girls--the oldest, 9 years old Emma, trying to handle this situation she knew was bad, trying to keep her sisters and cousins safe, doing all the right things by calling dad and telling him the signs where they were, and none of it helped. Because when they did an autopsy on Diane, she had an enormous amount of alcohol in her, 10 shots' worth, plus evidence that she'd been smoking pot within the hour. More than that, she had raw alcohol, indigested alcohol, in her stomach--so she'd kept on drinking even after she must've known she was hammered. What the hell? What could possibly explain that? How does she go from coherent and together at 12 to a complete mess an hour later? What the hell happened? Did she get some kind of bad news, did she think of something or did the alcohol act differently on her that day for some reason? I just don't get what would impel her to drink such an enormous amount when she had 5 kids in the car, especially when she'd never even come close to slipping like this before (had never shown up drunk to a PTA meeting or work or whatever).

Denial )

'This becomes a man you can't hate enough.' Really? )

"They should come forward, come clean," says Mike, and says that would be enough. “And we would feel better. We would."

I just don't know if I agree with that. I think right now nothing will make them feel better. I just don't think they're there yet. Maybe they never will be.

One thing that does sit wrong with me--I'm always uncomfortable when the spouse of the primary victim seems more invested in vengeance than the actual injured party. I think Jeanne Bastardi should be supporting her husband, not whipping him into greater heights of anger. He can obviously speak for himself. I can't imagine she's much solace to him, because she's just reinforcing his anger and hatred.

Her world is getting smaller... )

I hope the Bastardis, Danny and his son, and Warren and his wife find some peace. I really pray for that.
ceebeegee: (Spring!)
Eliot Spitzer to propose bill legalizing gay marriage.

Now I'll have to contact my state senator and rep to tell them where I stand on the issue.

New Yorkers, here is a way for you to look up who your state senator is (enter your zip code and whatever the results are, click on the senator's name, and then on the District Map at the bottom of that senator's page and check it against where you live). Here's the same thing for your state assembly representative.
ceebeegee: (Massachusetts foliage)
So Michael, Tesse, Duncan and I all drove out to an apple farm in Orange County, New York. I got up early Saturday morning and dressed appropriately--my new sequined pumpkin tee-shirt, a thermal long-sleeved shirt underneath it, braids and my pumpkin cap. We all met at the Avis in Midtown and while we were waiting in line Michael offered to get me coffee. I gave him my Starbucks card and asked if he could bring me a pumpkin spice latte. Apparently Michael HATES Starbucks but very nicely got me one anyway, even calling me at the counter to ask if I wanted whipped cream.

The drive was guh-moregeous. The leaves this year are not as dramatically beautiful as they have been in the past, but they still looked just lovely. When we got there, we headed immediately to the winetasting section--we got 6 tastings for $3, and then the very nice woman who took us through the tastings even gave us extra (I think we actually got 9 tastings). We got a lil' loopy on wine and bought some--I got a bottle of "Apple Blossom Blush" and Blackberry wine. I'm glad we did the wine first because later on it was very crowded.

Seth and Rachel joined us, and we all piled onto the tractor trailer and went to the orchard. I kept whipping out my football and throwing passes to Michael. I think I need to buy a better football, because my yellow one is somewhat deflated and a little small. OTOH, it IS lemon-yellow, which is so me! When we got to the orchard, the first trees we saw had small and unimpressive apples--then we noticed the trees farther back had much bigger apples toward to top. We could've used the apple-picker, but what fun is that? I climbed up several trees and pulled them off, dropping them into Michael's and Duncan's bags. I love climbing things. God should just save time and reincarnate me now as a 10-year-old boy, because clearly that's what I'm meant to be. I am just such a tomboy. I love jumping off things and climbing them and throwing things.

The one tiny flaw in the day was the weather--it was beautiful but a little too cold and windy. When we were in the sun it was okay but I had to keep my jacket on most of the time, which covered up my pumpkin-tastic sequined tee-shirt.

We had hot cider and cider doughnuts (mmmm...) and hot dogs and chili, and then we rode the tractor again, to the pumpkin patch. I got one sugar pie pumpkin, to puree and make pumpin bread and pie. Then we drove home, although we got a bit lost finding our way back out. The countryside is so pretty there though, so even lost, it was lovely. When we got back into the city we opened up the trunk and discovered our apples had gotten out of the bags and commingled promiscuously. They were all over the carpeted bottom of the trunk (which was very clean) and some had gotten bruised. I scolded them for their misbehavior and then we divvied them up. I can't wait to make some apple pies and apple bread.

Profile

ceebeegee: (Default)
ceebeegee

May 2020

S M T W T F S
     12
3456 789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31      

Syndicate

RSS Atom

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 28th, 2026 01:40 am
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios