ceebeegee: (Mardi Gras)
I miss London. How can you miss a place you've visited (really visited--I've been in and out of it before on flights) only once? Well when I went there in '09 I said it felt like coming home. I need to start planning another visit except that I have to go to Oslo first! My brother and his family are posted there--they moved last summer and will be there for three years. I have never been to any part of Scandinavia and we have Scandinavia ancestry so I'm excited. The Norwegians always seem so happy. Plus the land of Ibsen must have a great theater scene.

The Mardi Gras party went *very* well this year--we had quite a decent turnout, including a bunch of people who said things like "I've been hearing about this party for years, I have to come." It's definitely a handicap having a party on a Tuesday but after all it's Mardi Gras, not Samedi Gras :) I made a new item, a Cajun dip that FLEW off the shelves, as it were. I'd had the idea that I could make a Cajun version of a nine-layer dip--I could make it ahead of time and put it in the refrigerator (a lot of the stuff I make for the party has to be made then and there, like the red beans and rice). Mom went online and found a recipe for a hot Cajun dip you could make in the slow cooker. It's trayf as all hell, with shrimp and bacon and all sorts of things. I made it during the day on Tuesday (I realized I'd never cooked bacon before--I was going to go online to see how to do it, then I realized "maybe the directions are on the package" and they were! So now I know how to cook bacon :) As I was making it I had a feeling it would be a hit so I doubled the recipe--excellent idea! I barely got any at all, it was a such a hit. Next year I'll triple the recipe.

Had a lot of soccer teammates there--Zach and Lindsay's BF won the babies and posed adorably with them. LOT of former roommates there, including Lori, Anya and Mickey! (Missing just one HINT HINT ;) Mickey brought Kim, his new wife--she is a total sweetheart and was raving about "what a good idea this is for a party!" Hopefully they will be able to come next year. Lori was so cute and protective--I'd barely had anything to eat or drink so she made a plate for me.

Peter came and seemed to have a good time. Griffin was kind of...hostile about him. He was *really* drunk by the end of the night and drunkenly told me he thought Peter was sleazy or something. Ah, Griffin, ever the soul of tact! He always gets grumpy around any guy who has better game than he does. Peter is a little...forward but that's what I love about him :) He was talking to me and Lori and someone else about his daughters and how beautiful they were and he said "they look like these two" (meaning Lori and me)--isn't that sweet! He does give the nicest compliments. It was a little funny, I was agreeing with him about how beautiful they are (his daughters really are lovely, with huge Amanda-Seyfried eyes) and somehow the subject of his ex-wife came up. He said something to me about her, clearly soliciting my agreement and I said "I barely remember her, we met only once at the Annie Get Your Gun opening night party at Tavern on the Green." Peter, you really need to keep the women in your life straight! Anyway, he was proud of me for nabbing this beautiful apartment.

The party ended kind of early, around 12:30 (some years it goes to 2 or later). This was fine by me, as I was exhausted by that time. Jonny (Anya's roommate and a friend of mine), his BF and Anya left last. The apartment is still bedecked with balloons and garland, I am waiting to take them down until my friend Katie comes over. She didn't come to the party because she was feeling depressed that night so I want her to come visit for a mini-Mardi Gras (I still have hurricane mix left over). I was exhausted pretty much all of last week--after our soccer game Saturday morning I came back and took a FOUR HOUR nap. Sunday I slept most of the day. I actually feel okay today--fully rested for once. It's a Lenten miracle!
ceebeegee: (Viola in the water)
Winter soccer starts tomorrow! I are excited, although I'm NOOOOTTTTTT happy about the time--our games are between 9-12 in the morning. UGH. We all know how much of a morning person I am and I flat out told Zachary "expect me to sleep through at least one game," as always happens when we play in the morning. But still, even early morning soccer is better than no soccer!

We have a free agent on our team for the first time (and I'm happy about that, we need new blood!). We met him last night at the kickoff party--he is this adorable skinny ginger Brit who's been in the country for less than a month. I talked about London to him last night and I brought up the '90s movie Sliding Doors, which was on cable last weekend. [The movie came out in '98, a year when Gwyneth Paltrow was the Jennifer Lawrence of the day--she was in EVERYTHING that year, I think at least 4 movies? Sliding Doors, Great Expectations, the remake of the Hitchcock movie with Michael Douglas, and of course my beloved Shakespeare in Love.] Anyway I said to the guy that Sliding Doors is kind of cool, in that it gives us Americans a glimpse of everyday, undramatic, ordinary life in London, lived by Londoners. We see everyday life in, say, NYC or LA all the time in American movies but usually when London is in a film, it's specifically chosen as the setting for something huge and dramatic, or it's historical or something. It's cool to see how life is in another international city. (And oh God, that beautiful clean subway! Jesus wept. HOMESICK FOR LONDON NOW THANKS OBAMA.)

I've actually been toying with the idea of traveling there or somewhere in Europe maybe this year--nah, I don't think it's in the cards. For one thing I have several trips already planned--my college and high school reunions are this year. (My HS is so small we do all-class reunions, which is why it's in an off year. I like it that way, I get to see friends from other years. But it does amount to having to plan for both reunions in the same year.) I'm also toying with the idea of going to Pittsburgh in August to see WAG Nationals. None of these trips are terribly expensive as these things go, but it adds up. Besides I still have to save for my trip to Oslo--I think I've mentioned this already but my brother got posted there so I have to make the trip at some point and see the monsters.
ceebeegee: (Midsummer)
English money is so PRETTY! Pretty little engravings, all shot through with shininess, with different colors...why can't our money look like that??

Top songs that will NOT STOP GOING THROUGH MY HEAD:

*"A Room in Bloomsbury" from The Boyfriend (our hotel is on Russell Square in Bloomsbury)

*"There's No Place Like London" from Sweeney Todd

*"Christmas in Hampton Court" from Rex

*"The Lambeth Walk" from Me and My Girl

Okay, I'm excited and all but these songs are DRIVING ME CRAZY!!!!

All we want is a roooom
In Bloooombu-ry
Just a room that will dooooo
For youuuuuu
And me

I'll sew the covers for
Two old cozy armchairs
Neighbors will love us for
We shall laugh at all our cares...
ceebeegee: (Midsummer)
So, I've been putting together a "rough" (heh heh) itinerary for London, for which my Mom and I leave in EXACTLY TWO DAYS. Yay! The itinerary is pretty full, since there's so much we want to do. This is what it looks like:

Friday, 10/2

9:30 Arrive in London, go through customs

11:30 (approx.) Check into hotel

River tour (weather)—meet at Westminster Pier by Westminster Bridge. (£6.90 1-way, £8.70, round-trip)



Westminster Bridge and Big Ben

Shopping/wandering?

7:30 Jack the Ripper tour (£7, £5 for Mom, 2 hours, weather)

Saturday, 10/3

Morning Globe/Rose tour (Clara—remember to bring LLL ticket for discount)

2:00 British Museum (free)

7:30—Love’s Labour’s Lost at the Globe (Clara—pre-booked, pick up tix at window)



The Globe

There's more of course, including Hampton Court, Evensong at St. Paul's, Evensong at Westminster Abbey, the Tower of London...I'm trying to figure out how I can fit in a custom-made Xmas Carol tour--they offer them but only during the holidays, it seems. So I'll have to pull out the map of London I consulted for Xmas Carol research and map out my own tour.

Oh, and I found out our hotel has 1) free WiFi, 2) a GYM (whoo hoo! I can work out every day!) and 3) full English breakfasts, included in the room! YUM.

Profile

ceebeegee: (Default)
ceebeegee

May 2020

S M T W T F S
     12
3456 789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31      

Syndicate

RSS Atom

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 24th, 2026 11:38 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios