ceebeegee: (Tulips!)
I can't really post this on Facebook because it'll come off as passive-aggressive. But I have to say--if you don't want to see/read spoilers. STAY THE FUCK OFF SOCIAL MEDIA. It really is that simple. It is exactly what I do during the Olympics--I stay off Facebook, I avoid the news, I take responsibility for my avoidance. I just--a major event happened last night on Game of Thrones and people are posting about it. They're excited, they're horrified, they want to talk about it. Which is basically the point of social media--to enable conversation and connection. Cue a flood of outraged viewers who didn't watch last night and are now bemoaning people talking about it. STAY THE FUCK OFF SOCIAL MEDIA. You don't HAVE to spend hours on Facebook, you know. Avoid being spoiled by not going where people are talking about spoilers! People complaining about spoilers on Facebook is like walking down a hallway, hearing a conversation through a closed door, and then opening the door and telling the people in the room to stop talking. It just annoys the living shit out of me. My friend Dave wrote "The king is dead!" a fairly cryptic comment. Immediately some idiot wrote "If that's a Game of Thrones spoiler...shush! I haven't watched it yet." Fuck you! Why ask for confirmation that it's a spoiler? That MAKES it a spoiler, moron! Which is what I finally wrote back after this person came on again and demanded that everyone "stop talking about spoilers!!!!!"

No, this wasn't directed at me since (because I hate dealing with that type of people) I wrote my status update so carefully, you had to have watched the episode *and* known that I'm a G of T fan to have understood what I was talking about . (I didn't even identify the show!) But that sort of camp-counselor bullshit just winds me up.

ANYWAY. The weekend was good. My Dolphman team had a game Friday and we won handily, 3-0. I scored the last goal, right between the goalie's legs :) It was a great game, we played very well. Afterward at the bar one of the other players in the league was doing pushups on the floor--he got to about 30. then Brian, one of my teammates, did his own set but he was doing extreme pushups--tiger pushups, one-handed, etc. He did about 25. Then I started and I did over 50--54, I think, but the crowd had stopped counting at that point. Afterward one of the guys leaned over and said my new nickname would be "Fi'tty Pushups" which made me laugh :)
ceebeegee: (Default)
Finally some warm weather this weekend! My winter soccer league is over but I booked a Meetup game for tomorrow, even though rain is predicted. I'll just bundle up, I'm so sick of being stuck inside! Yay for spring finally arriving! Our long regional nightmare is OVER!

For some reason Verizon decided to give me HBO free for four months--have NO IDEA why but I'll take it. They're running mini-marathons of Game of Thrones to catch us up for the next season, which starts next Sunday. I'm still mulling over whether I want to keep watching--it is an amazing show, I just don't want to see more pregnant women getting stabbed and bad people rewarded, over and over. I mean, WTF, showing what they did to Robb's BODY? And poor Grey Wind? DO NOT WANT. Whatever tesse's big reveal is (trying to cheer me up last June after I was in complete shock, she said something Very important is about to happen). It had better happen in the first episode if they want to keep me as viewer, is all I can say!

It is a great show, even if I'm bored stiff by everything north of the wall. Seriously, zombies are just dull.

Last Thanksgiving when I was up at my parents' place in New Hampshire, I gathered some black walnut fruits from their giant tree in their front yard. Packed them into a plastic bag, brought them home and tossed them into the freezer. Last week I decided to process them so I defrosted them, pulled off the husks (getting my hands very stained--there's a natural dye ion black walnut fruits that's retty strong, I'm lucky I didn't mess up my floor) and then tried to cure them as much as possible before shelling them. Maybe next time I'll cure them in the oven because I still needed to use a hammer to crack them open! Those walnuts had some very thick shells, my nutcracker was nigh useless. Anyway I got *some* meat, not a huge amount--but oh my Lord, their odor is PUNGENT. They smell like feet, I kid you not. They don't taste bad but the odor is unbearable, I'm gagging just thinking about it. I'm trying to figure out what I can do to strip the smell because I want to do this again--I think it's really cool I can make something with the fruit from my Dad's tree. Maybe cure or bake the cuts?

So proud of myself--with part of the tax refund I made an extra mortgage payment. At this rate (I pay a little more than 10% extra every month as well), I will pay it off ten years early!
ceebeegee: (Game of Thrones)
So, yeah. Game of Thrones. WOW. Still processing that episode. I just HATE violence on screen, I cannot bear seeing people just get slaughtered, not to mention cruelty to animals. But it WAS great storytelling, and the acting and directing was also terrific. I'm not saying HBO or GRRM should have done anything differently, I'm just not sure if I'm the audience for it. I was talking about it with Tesse who was BURSTING with spoilers but was able to contain herself. I have to say, I'm very impressed that so many readers were able to sit on this and not spoil it for the rest of us. I was STUNNED, I had no idea that was going to happen. I have to be careful when I find articles about G of T online, because so many commenters include spoilers. I love Hitfix's reviews, but man, the commentariat--even though the reviewer explicitly forbids spoilers, people just do it anyway. So any article, any YouTube video, I watch or I read then but I do not scroll down. (Mad Men content online is much easier on the nerves, because Weiner NEVER allows a hint of what's going to happen to escape.)

I have to admit, this made me laugh:



Poor Arya. Poor Sansa. Bran at least is becoming a boss.

I did think of Glencoe, which is probably the most notorious breach of hospitality in history. I believe the Glen is referred to as the Valley of Weeping. Sadly, Scottish history is chockful of horrible incidents like that--read about what they did to David Rizzio, the private secretary of Mary Queen of Scots when she was pregnant (this parallel also occurred to me as I watched the Red Wedding). Shameful, the Scots didn't even need the English to wipe them out--we were doing just fine killing each other.

I can't imagine anyone will have anything to do with Walder Frey now--not only did he commit the worst kind of treachery, but it's obvious he doesn't give a crap about his wives. Who would willingly marry their daughter to that? The only thing that will redeem G of T for me is seeing either Joffrey or Walder Frey (IDEALLY BOTH) suffer painful, humiliating demises.

Going to Belmont Stakes this Saturday with Tim. I directed a reading of a new play, written by his friend, a writer for the NY Times. John has ambitions--he wants to take the play to Off-Broadway or even further (as I told the cast "it means--we may be goin' to Broad. Way"). We had some possible investors there. We'll see. The cast killed it--I had 3 actors with Broadway credits, and the other 2 were terrific as well. I was a little nervous about the whole thing because John had to be pushed to do ANYTHING--I was constantly having to explain to him yes, you need to pay for this, no, we can't do that. And frankly if an actual producer with $$ does take over and decides they should get a director with more of a name, I would understand that--that's a business decision. (Although I would push for being dramaturg!) That said, in my head I've already made some aesthetic decisions about what I'd like to do if the play goes further.

It was a lot of fun working with an all-guy cast--of course I adore Ryan (and oddly, this is the first time we've worked together since Virginia!) and it was great to work with Tony again. And Carlos just makes me laugh--he has such a genuine good nature, kind of a reformed rascal, and rascals always make me laugh. Matt knocked Stearns OUT OF THE PARK, did a fantastic job with some tricky dialogue, and Eric was terrific as well.
ceebeegee: (Game of Thrones)
I posted this on the HitFix review of the Game of Thrones finale:

I honestly don't get Stannis's insistence that that's the law [i.e., that Stannis is the rightful king]. By LAW, Vicerys (and now Dany) should be ruling. Their father was the last King, and they were in line after their older brother and his children, all of whom were killed. Robert usurped the throne--although you could make a legal argument that he became the rightful ruler by right of conquest (which was how Henry VII assumed the throne in 1485). Or, if you want to get very technical, notwithstanding Joffrey, Tommen & Myrcella's actual parentage, they were in fact borne within wedlock and Robert is officially their father, and he acknowledged himself as such. That's the law. The real idea, which Stannis is resisting because it undermines his claim, is that after a certain point, power makes its own rules. Joffrey is king as long as the people want him to be king, or as long as he has an army to back it up. If Stannis's army, or Robb's army or Dany's dragons, can rewrite history, that's what will happen. Stannis's tone-deaf insistence on his "rights" isn't going to win the day, especially since he had his brother murdered to back it up.
ceebeegee: (Default)
A sudden thought just occurred to me. I have a feeling that Sansais going to die. The Stark children's direwolves are obviously avatars to some extent--Nymeria is alone and on her own (like Arya), Shaggy Dog is shaggy (like Rickon), Ghost is the different one (like Jon)...and Lady died early on.

I haven't finished the second book yet, and haven't seen the season finale yet, so I'm just speculating.

I do hope I'm wrong, she's one of my favorite characters.
ceebeegee: (Spring!)
I hung out at Griffin's last night and got caught up on Game of Thrones.  LOVE IT.  Arya & Tywin together are gold, I absolutely adore their dynamic. I want to squee at his obvious respect and the beginnings of affection for her, but having just finished the first book (which helps me keep the backstory straight) I know he is a monster in his way, and killed the Targaryen children.  So yeah, he's still a monster, but even a monster can have nuance. Charles Dance is THE MAN, though, he owns the stage every time he steps into it.  And the little girl playing Arya is a fucking rock star, she is killing all of her scenes.  Great, great stuff.

OMG, Sansa's scene!  In the hallway!  With the rioting peasants!  So, so intense--I was literally clutching my head watching it. Very upsetting.  It was awesome seeing Joffrey getting clowned with cow pies, though.

I fucking ADORE Jaquen,the guy who's killing 3 men for Arya.  I just love the way he speaks ("a man needs a name..."), and his look and his exquisite highlights.  (As Lori and I joked, it's always great when you can schedule your highlights right before you get captured and thrown into a cage for several weeks.)

Tonks
naked! My eyes!  I knew from the start that she was sucking up to Theon for a reason.  She seemed too solid to betray Bran like that.  As soon as Rodrik goaded Theon into doing the job himself (as Ned Stark would have done), I said to Griffin "he's gonna botch the job."  And he did.  Read about the botched execution of Mary Queen of Scots--that one also took several blows.


I adore this comment on TWoP:

We really need a spin-off set in Harrenhal. It would mainly consist of Tywin bonding with Arya over how incompetent everyone else is, and a man killing people in amusing ways. (Tywin's annoyed expression when Amory Loch falls down dead is priceless).I imagine by the end Arya is his chief general and very confused about how she got there. In case that would be too awesome to put on TV, we could intersperse it with Theon finding new and exciting ways to be a complete fuckup.

I am completely bored with everything to do with The Wall and beyond (I don't want to see beautiful people swathed in furs and bulky clothes, I want to see them looking pretty, preferably naked). But I did like Jon's protracted flirtation with the red-haired wildling.  She played him like a fiddle.
ceebeegee: (Mad Men)
Mad Men--great as always.  I LOVE how dark this season has been!  Spoilers )
Last night's episode took place in late October of 1966 and I'm ticking off the historical markers to come in my head--less than a year until the Summer of Love, less than 2 years until the RFK and King assassinations, less than 3 until Woodstock and the Manson murders.  Just 2 years for the heyday and fall of the counterculture.

I have to say, I'm really getting sick of the constant criticism of every actress who isn't Peggy/Elizabeth Moss or Joan/Christina Hendricks.  Jessica Pare is doing a fine job as Megan and although I'm not terribly interested in her character, I certainly not going to whine and moan about how MW & Co. are "hitting us over the head with how wonderful Megan is" and how she's a "Mary Sue." (God, I'm over that term.  A Mary Sue is a specific *thing,* not just any female character who isn't a bitch.  You can't win.  The vitriol that Megan's character gets is part of what I call the Ginny Weasely syndrome, when the Hero's GF/wife is introduced at a later time, and the fans are jealous.  Ginny REALLY couldn't win--she was trashed for being both a Mary Sue AND a bitch.)  The posters on TWoP are so efffing obnoxious sometimes, and the scrutiny given to *any* female character except the designated Awesome One(s) is so inherently misogynistic.  You saw this on The X Files as well--Scully was the Designated Awesome One and poor Annabeth Gish as Reyes could never ever measure up.  January Jones/Betty got this kind of hatred as well, and Alexis Bledel as Beth last night also got routinely trashed.  All of them are terrific. So-called fans need to hold female characetrs to the same level of scrutiny as the male characters--no more, no less.  If Don and fucking PETE get love, so should the ladies.
 
I spent the weekend (most of it) in Philadelphia, visiting my brother and his family.  He and his wife have 20 month old twins and they are PRECIOUS.  Little fairy-haired, blue-eyed blonde cherubs, just like Freddie and Flossie Bobbsey.  Absolutely gorgeous.  Philly is a fun city, actually--lots of museums and a huge park.  Erik lives in a good neighborhood within walking distance of some great museums--we wandered around and had lunch at a Mexican place nearby.  Yesterday we went to see the Liberty Bell--so cool and iconic!  Amazing to see that crack.  For the train ride down I bought a copy of the book version of Game of Thrones.  So far it seems to be a very close adaptation.  My favorite chapter is the one when
Spoilers )
and talking to the crow.  Really solid writing there.  I have not been able to watch this week's episode yet, because Lori was in labor (she had her baby!  A boy!) so I'll have to find a way to get it online, although Amazon and iTunes only seem to have last season.

Lots of softball this weekend--FOUR games!  Then I'm hanging out with my soccer team Saturday night--birthday celebration, and we're doing karaoke.
ceebeegee: (Beyond Poetry)
Am completely addicted to Game of thrones now--I watched the pilot, didn't really get into it but then started watching it a few weeks ago. LOVE IT. I am finishing up a Clio entry on the historical parallels. Love it, love it, finished all of season 1 last night.

That said, I really, really wish I could find a blog online that discusses it without heavy-handed hints about the books (from sites that are supposed to be spoiler-free). I have NOT read the books and won't until the series ends. I've already been spoiled for a couple of major events and it's pretty annoying.

Favorite characters:

*Tryion. He is awesome and hilarious. LOVED his "confession" at the Eyrie.

*Dany! She is fierce and wonderful and queenly.

*Sansa, oddly. She's just such a young teenager--she's so timeless. And watching her struggle to adapt to The Game is simultaneously thrilling and heart-breaking. LOVED that last scene between her and Joffrey and the trellis. Things are gonna be different, I think.

*Arya and Bran just make me squee. They're so cute and the actors are so terrific.

*Vicerys. He is sadly hottt to me. I know I shouldn't find him attractive, being crazy and abusive and all, but that scene in the tub was whitehottt. And hilarious. "Wait a minute--what am I paying you for?"

It was nice to see Argus Filch manning the Twins--maybe he can help Sam get into Hogwarts :) Or maybe Tonks could help out!

Moar dragons! Moar direwolves!

Profile

ceebeegee: (Default)
ceebeegee

May 2020

S M T W T F S
     12
3456 789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31      

Syndicate

RSS Atom

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 25th, 2026 01:50 am
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios